Solange Knowles Announces New Album, A Seat at The Table

And now, some very good news: Solange Knowles has announced her latest album, A Seat at the Table is dropping September 30th and I am very, very excited.


Ahead of the announcement, Solange also dropped a digital book of the same name, with photography and poetry. She announced the book in a mysterious Instagram post last week, writing “86 of you will receive a seat at the table in the mail…..first come….first served…” Complex reports that the post directed fans to her website. After signing up with their name and address, a lucky 86 people received the book in the mail Monday.

The photos accompanying the poems in the book are beautiful, featuring Solange and friends posing in rotundas, sitting on the steps of a building barefoot in a pink jacket that looks like a dreamy marshmallow, and most memorably, on the hull of a rusting, hulking spaceship deep in the desert.

The tracklist for the album is also pretty dang impressive, with appearances from the likes of Kelela, Dev Hynes, Lil Wayne and most essentially, Q-Tip, featured in a song called “Borderline (An Ode to Self-Care).” The titles of the interludes are also curious; “Interlude: Dad was Mad” is followed shortly thereafter by “Interlude: Tina Taught Me.” Something tells me that this is going to be pretty freakin’ great.


As this is the first new music from Solange in four years (!!), my expectations are high as hell, But, if the snippets I’ve seen on her very-enjoyable Snapchat are any indication, we will not be disappointed. The full tracklist is below.

1. “Rise”
2. “Weary” (Additional Vocals blessed by Tweet)
3. “Interlude: The Glory Is In You”
4. “Cranes In The Sky”
5. “Interlude: Dad Was Mad”
6. “Mad” Ft. Lil Wayne (Additional Vocals blessed by Moses Sumney and Tweet)
7. “Don’t You Wait”
8. “Interlude: Tina Taught Me”
9. “Don’t Touch My Hair” Ft. Sampha
10. “Interlude: This Moment” (Additional vocals Devonte Hynes of Houston Texas and Lu of Carolina)
11. “Where Do We Go” (Additional vocals blessed by Sean Nicholas Savage)
12. “Interlude: For Us By Us” “F.U.B.U.” Ft. The Dream & BJ The Chicago Kid (Additional Vocals blessed by Tweet)
13. “Borderline (An Ode To Self Care)“ Ft. Q-Tip
14. “Interlude: I Got So Much Magic, You Can Have It” Ft. Kelly Rowland & NiaAndrews
15. “Junie”
16. “Interlude: No Limits”
17. “Don’t Wish Me Well”
18. “Interlude: Pedestals”
19. “Scales” Ft. Kelela
​20. “Closing: The Chosen Ones


Tabby Gevinson

“The full trackless tracklist is below.”