RuPaul Wins First Emmy for RuPaul's Drag Race After Eight Seasons

Image via Getty
Image via Getty

RuPaul scored the first Emmy for RuPaul’s Drag Race, winning best reality TV host at Sunday night’s Creative Emmy Awards.

With his show in its eighth season, RuPaul won the Emmy over Ryan Seacrest (American Idol), Jane Lynch (for Hollywood Game Night’s), Heidi Klum and Tim Gunn (Project Runway), Steve Harvey (Little Big Shots) and Tom Bergeron (Dancing With the Stars), which is certainly a huge feat.

“Earlier this year I was quoted saying I’d rather have an enema than an Emmy,” RuPaul said in his acceptance speech. “But thanks to the Television Academy, I can have both!”


RuPaul later spoke to Yahoo backstage and took time to praise the contestants. “It’s really about the girls [contestants], all the 100 girls who have come through on this show who are so brilliant. I accept this for them,” he said. “The significance [of this award] is we hear the stories of 100 queens—actually now 112 queens—who get to tell their unique stories of survival. It’s so important for all the young people around the world who get to see this show to hear that there is a way for you to navigate this life.”

Culture Editor, Jezebel

Share This Story

Get our newsletter


I’ve been kinda disappointed that there isn’t a Jezebel Rupaul’s Drag Race All Stars thread happening (I’ve been participating in the discussion for the weekly recap over at AV club). Anyone watching All Stars? Anyone else dying for PhiPhi to go home or wanna talk about their fave looks that slayed the runway so far??

Oh, and #TeamKatya or #TeamAlaska!